Always with the purring

PPSpaghetti

Post   » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:22 am

I am very new to the guinea pig world. Like two weeks new. Sparing some details we picked up a piggy at a local odd and unusual sale. She was cute, my four year old and her seemed to bond well and she was $10 for the cage, bowls, etc. All we know about her is what was written on the cardboard sign on her cage. "1 year old friendly female guinea pig". Upon bringing her home and some research she seems not so well taken care of (nails super long, toes packed solid with poop, dishes packed with poop, and a small Rubbermaid as a cage. She has been to the vet, small town rural vet who admittedly has no experience with guinea pigs, had nails trimmed, poop removed, weighed, much larger cage made (8.5 square feet). So here's my question: she has been in this new enclosure for about a week and seems happy runs around and leaps over logs every evening. But all day and night for the past two days I can hear her purring. Her purring doesn't seem to be happy as when she does it she usually walks away from you. But she has been doing it for two days probably every half an hour when no one is even around her. I take her out every day, she gets lots of attention that she seems to not mind from my four year old, drinks, poops, pees, doesn't want her hay mind you but eats everything else well (she has never really liked her hay). It's fall here and in the country and we always get lots of flies around this time. Could the flies be annoying her? There are usually one or two crawling in the shavings or on her hous but never on her. Or maybe it's a sign she's in heat? Ideas?

JX4

Post   » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:54 am