oxytetracycline

HM Cavy Rescue

Post   » Fri Mar 15, 2002 6:51 pm

I´ve been having problems posting. It says the column width does not match the message?

HM Cavy Rescue

Post   » Fri Mar 15, 2002 6:55 pm

Oxytetracycline or Terramyacin is available in many rabbit and cavy supply catalogs for use on cavies. I have been using it for many years to treat colds and runny eyes in my rabbits and cavies without any problems. I just read on the Dangerous Meds page that it should not be used. What kinds of problems does it cause? I´ve always used 1tsp. to 32oz of water and it´s cleared up the problem. Now I´m concerned.
Thanks,
HM Cavy Rescue

Lynx
Celebrate!!!

Post   » Fri Mar 15, 2002 8:28 pm

I don´t know what is going on with the thread -- sometimes things get a little strange.

Antibiotics are serious stuff. They should not be used without consulting a qualified vet first. Any formulary will give medications in gm/kg -- i.e. a particular amount of medication for a particular weight of pig. Any attempt to administer antibiotics in water will result in over or under medication. The only time I have ever heard of anyone trying this is with animals they really are not too concerned with, in an attempt to slow an outbreak of some illness or infection.

I don´t know specifically what the problem with this drug is but Josephine might. My guess is it could be a combination of effectiveness and its effect on the intestinal bacteria so vital to guinea pig health.

All antibiotics affect the intestinal bacteria in some way. It is important to administer antibiotics under the advice and guidance of a qualified vet to ensure an appropriate one is being administered. They may do tests to see what is most effective. If you have had luck doing this, it is indeed just luck and would not be recommended by a knowledgeable vet.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------