Interesting link on bladder stones

Julian
I GAVE, dammit!

Post   » Thu Aug 22, 2002 3:40 am

http://www.wugnet.de/mitglieder/wenzel/urolith.htm

Bladder issues seem to be a hot topic these days. I found this interesting.

Josephine
Little Jo Wheek

Post   » Thu Aug 22, 2002 3:47 am

Thanks for the link. It seems as if the stones are combined types? Interesting, since they have different chemical compositions.

I don´t see anything about prognosis or follow-up treatment. Poor pigs.

Julian
I GAVE, dammit!

Post   » Thu Aug 22, 2002 4:00 am

Does Polycitra work on struvite stones? I know calcium is the most prevelent but I can´t seem to find any percentages on struvites. I know I am an anal accountant who wants to analyze the numbers to look for patterns.

It seems with further knowledge and better after- stone care more pigs are surviving. The follow up treatment sems to be critical. I know the mortality rate is still fairly high for this type of problem but do you know ( or could guess at ) the sucess rate?

Lynx
Celebrate!!!

Post   » Thu Aug 22, 2002 7:02 am

I always wondered if the kind of water the animals were drinking made a difference. My well water is slightly acid and very soft. The water I grew up on was quite hard with alot of dissolved calcium in it.

Interesting article. But I wish it had treatment suggestions too. Basically seems to state bladder stones more common in females, incidence of 1.3 - 5.2%, and that the stones are typically not just one calcium compound, but several (calcium- carbonate, Mg-ammonium- phosphate (struvit), calcium- phosphate, and calcium- oxalate).

Julian, you seem to have done alot of reading and had personal experience with stones. If you had the time or inclination, it would be great to write up something (maybe two parts) with your personal experiences (symptoms, diagnosis, treatment) and what you have learned about stones for the Reference and First Hand Accounts forum.

Josephine
Little Jo Wheek